I can no longer log in to Second Life.

BellaCalabria

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4659 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

I am a Newbie. Things were going fine for a couple weeks. But now when I click on the Second Life Viewer2 icon on my desktop this happens:

Detecting hardware.

Initializing Texture Cache

Initializing VFS

Then a new window pops up called Second Life Crash Logger which says

Gathering hardware information

Sending to server try 1

Then the Second Life icon flashes briefly on my task bar and disappears. Thats it.

I have not been banned. I checked for tickets there were none.

Thots?

Editing in additional information as Second Life will not allow me to post an answer to my own question. I have completed the instructions suggested in the answer below. I have no difficulty deleting the files in both the Second Life and Local/Second Life folders. However, this only allows me to log in once. The next time I try to log in the problem presents itself again. I have to delete the files before each and every time I login. Furthermore, this logs me into BASIC mode and I am stuck there. For that reason I do not see this as a solution to the problem.

4 answers to this question

Try clearing your cache manually, go to:

(XP) - C: - Documents and Settings - (USER NAME) - AppData - SecondLife
(Vista) - C: - Users - (USER NAME) - AppData - Local - SecondLife
(Win 7) - C: - Users - (USER NAME) - AppData - Roaming - SecondLife and Local - SecondLife

Rename the folder Secondlife2 and then restart your computer.

NOTE: You may need to go to Windows Tools > Folder Options > View & enable Show Hidden Files/Folders, in order to see AppData folder.