sculpt basic question - haw many faces?

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4667 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi everyone

I only started learning sculpt in blender and can’t find answer to lame problem – what is a limit to faces,  edges in created sculpt. I`m positive I so somewhere u can make max 1024 faces for sl but in most tutorials I see that they starting on lower level like 1st for simpler sculpts or 2nd for more complicated and later increase levels to get it more smooth and more details. But in my blender (2.49) when I starting on cylinder I have already 1024 faces on 2nd level with 8*8 faces on x/y and on 3rd 4096. Maybe isn’t important till u keeping proportions and during baking script take care of it but I getting real messed up prims after loading into sl L

And second question when I starting my prim in blender from say Hemi or cube grooved…. What I choose in sl as sculpt type ( not sphere I guess ;)

If you're using Blender with JASS-2, you don't need to worry about the number of faces.  That's set automatically when you add a new sculpty mesh object and determine the LOD settings you want.  After that, you can't add or remove faces/vertices,etc....

I have never used a Hemi object, but a Grooved Cube is treated like a sphere.

HI

Thx for quick answer but as far as I know I don’t have JASS-2 and I spend quite a lot time making my blender work (finding proper version of everything to work with sl) so I don’t really enthusiastic about changes now J

I’m not trying to delete any faces but to make it smoother I added 3 level of multires and had like 4096 faces and after loading into sl prim looked crappie L so I wonder about limits of faces or is a limit on multires levels so prim will not change after loading to sl

And again: And second question when I starting my prim in blender from say Hemi or block…. What I choose in sl as sculpt type ( not sphere I guess