Inventory Limit

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4671 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I get scared about the size of my inventory. I normally try to keep it below 10k items. But I've been playing since 2004 so it's getting harder and harder to wittle down the size of my inventory as there are many things I do not wish to delete.

Does anyone know what the if there is a limit to how much stuff you can have or how much stuff before you start having problems?

I've always heard horror stories about the lindens having to wipe your inventory because you can't log in or your inventory disappears or you loose are your friends...Not even sure what to believe so this is me trying to research this and find out more about it.

Thanks for reading,

Summer

I have no idea. I've heard of people with hundreds of thousands of stuff in thier inv, and they seem to be just fine.

However, I've heard people wanting to impose inventory limits on NPIOFS, and that makes my blood boil....

But that's neither here or there.

Still, it's a good idea to give your inventory a good mucking out evey now and then, if only to find stuff.

They claim there is no limit however, when I reach around 38k items, they start to vanish.  I've lost over 2,000 textures in my inventory and numerous other items over time and always as I get near 38k.  I thin out my inventory of redundant items then it seems to be OK again.

It's been an urban legend for a long time that you shouldn't get above 10k items, else things might get pruned. But that's not true. I've exceeded that limit a few years ago and nothing's been missing really. What the exact limit is, or if there even is one I'm not sure about. But it's always a good idea to keep your inv organized regardless. :)