having trouble in login

saam321

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4671 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

i am using windows 7 and its my first time to login to SL.I downloaded it's version 2.7.2.It's installed perfectly but whenever i try to login it loads fonts,decode images and when come for waiting for region hand shake it gives the following message.

""WE ARE HAVING TROUBLE CONNECTING.THERE MAY BE A PROBLEM WITH YOUR INTERNET CONNECTION OR THE SECOND LIFE GRID""

My internet connection is working perfectly.please help me out from this problem.any help appreciated.

I have not seen that problem often, but here is a report tht might be relevant:

Get logged out a lot? Check your router

http://virtualoutworlding.blogspot.com/2011/01/kit-get-logged-out-lot-check-your.html

SL uses ports that are not commonly used on the web, so it is sometimes blocked by firewalls and atrivirus programs. 

Norton is known to create problems.  I use MS security essesntials and have no problems.

I am using win 7 64 and know of many other SL users with win 7. 

TKR

You should not manually open ports.   A few times Windows Firewall has asked me for approval on opening ports for Second life -- that only gives Second Life permission to use the port.  You would only approve opening a port if you trust the software    If this is a port issue, I would have expected your firewall to request permission also.  (I am using Win 7 also.)

My first suggestion reflects my bias about virus protection: If you are not using Microsoft Security Essentials (free download from MS), I suggest that you download it, remove what your are now using, and Immediate/y install the MS product.  I know I have no SL problems from Security Essentials.