New to creating in Blender...NEED HELP!

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 67 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

hi everyone,i am new to creating in Blender,i have attempted to make a mesh but struggling on how to unwrap...How do i unwrap easily so the textures line up right and don't stretch,I originally made meshes in Sketchup which is much easier but alot more basic which is why i wanted to start learning blender so i could make my own meshes for Second Life but the struggle is getting to me lol...Maybe its the mesh i made i have no idea but thought i'd ask if anyone might know or know where i can learn Blender for SL as i am not finding anything that could help me for this situation...i have attached what i am making but every time i try to unwrap especially the base i have a hard time,i am testing the unwrap with the UV GRID texture but everything seems off...Also for the part that i did in the front of the base that is bulging out is this how it would normally be done or is that why i am having issues? Thank you

16f2cde4c46d4197be2ae4dd5e308f7b.png

d177eebd1a2524b29032274bd0450f18.png

That is a fairly complex question and the "best" answer would be "start with something simpler" and then work up to what you have there. 

image.thumb.png.70e09a218dd5caf21322fd04901ec6f8.png

In general you will want to think about the different MATERIALS that will be part of your object -- so bottom base, glass, top base and likely one or more trim colors.  You can only have EIGHT materials per object in SL so think about that also.  Sometimes you can let Blender unwrap for you and it works (not all that often but sometimes). This is NOT a case for that. You you need to mark the edges where you want to divide the mapping.  I did a messy job giving you some ideas.