Many Questions

L0LAM0NR03

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 349 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

Ive been playing sl for many years but i was an off and on person and really didnt care to play it like i should have.

However ive noticed rentals are expensive so i was wondering how to get started with my Linden home and land? i know i have to buy the home and land but im not aware of what im looking for and i have no clue what prims are? is this just like the furnitute and etc or?

Also is premium worth having? i have never bought premium memberships before and i see their is 

plus membership ..premium membership and premium plus membership. which range in order from 5.50per month, 8.25 per month, and 20.75 per month. 

if anyone can better explain if im better off getting a membership or buying land and a home? trying to start somewhere and need a home to go to. 

4 answers to this question

The easy answer is that you don't "need" a home in SL at all.  Homes are handy as a place to crash and a place to decorate, but you don't need one to enjoy SL.  It took me almost two years before I finally decided that I wanted one.  ;)

So, if you "want" a home the option that leaves you the the greatest flexibility is rental. You can move as often as you like, and can do a lot of customization.  Once you find a place that fits your personal standards and is available at a price you consider fair, you just pay a week's rent and move in.   How big should the parcel be?  There are two considerations.  One is size and the other is capacity.   They are related.  You clearly need enough space to built (or plop down) a house, and you need a high enough capacity (Land Impact -- sometimes still called "prims") to allow you to rez the house and whatever you want to put on the parcel.  L.I. is proportional to parcel size, so the bigger the parcel, the more stuff you can put on it.