Please help a beginner

Fairealice

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 444 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello, Just to let you know i am new to creating. i made a rattle and i put a walking sound script on but i would like it to have a dialog box come up when touched so that i can turn the sound off and on with a button. can someone help me with that please? My dad and i looked everywhere.

thank you 

string mySound;
integer isOn; // script is 'active'
integer isWalking; // owner is currently walking.
key owner;
{   state_entry()
    {   mySound = llGetInventoryName(INVENTORY_SOUND,0);
        owner = llGetOwner();
    }
    changed(integer c)
    {   if(c&CHANGED_OWNER)
        {   owner = llGetOwner();
        }
    }
    touch_start(integer n)
    {   isOn = !isOn;
        if(isOn)
        {   llOwnerSay("Walking sound on.");
            llSetTimerEvent(0.5);
        }else
        {   llOwnerSay("Walking sound off.");
            llSetTimerEvent(0.0);
            llStopSound();
        }
    }
    timer()
    {   integer walking = llGetAgentInfo(owner)&AGENT_WALKING;
        if(walking!=isWalking)
        {   isWalking=walking;
            if(isWalking)
            {   llLoopSound(mySound,1.0);
            }else
            {   llStopSound();
            }
        }
    }
}

If all you're doing is turning it off and on again, why do you need a dialog box?

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

If all you want to do is turn the sound on and off, you don't really need a dialog box at all.  All you need is a simple toggle switch that is touch-activated. The basics of a toggle switch are easy.  You need a global integer variable that you can switch between TRUE and FALSE and you need a tiny bit of logic:

integer iON;

{
     touch_start(integer num)
     {
           iON = !iON;    // That is, reverse the sense of iON
           if (iON)
           {
                llLoopSound(my_sound, 1.0);
           }