Problem with Baked Texture on Mesh looking EXTREMELY different

Raena Parx

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 402 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello. I'm fairly new to Blender, but have been playing with procedural textures and having a lot of fun.  The problem is I get the object looking beautiful in the material preview, but then when going into rendered preview, it changes drastically. I have to add lighting and a white plane under it to get it light enough to even show up.  THEN...I bake it, and save the baked image.  And when I apply the baked texture in Secondlife it looks even MORE different. And that's IF I can even get the textures to align when I apply them.

In addition, my texture may or may not align when I apply them to the object in SecondLife.  Any time I make a change to the structure of the object I "apply all transformations", then recreate a Smart UV map, then bake the texture, then while the same exact objects are selected I export to .dae.  Is there something I'm missing?

Can someone please tell me..

1.  A technique to keep consistency from what I made in blender to what it looks like in Secondlife. (Picture attached)

2.  Why is it that half the time when I apply the baked texture, it's out of alignment? 

Any help is appreciated.  Thank you in advance :)

stool bake previews.jpg

• Confused 1

Reflections like what you're seeing in the material preview mode depend on your camera angle and environment.

The rendered preview mode has a different environment, so it looks different.

The baked texture also looks different for the same reasons. You also lose realtime reflections when you bake a texture, since you're basically turning everything to a static image.

5 hours ago, Raena Parx said:

Can someone please tell me..

1.  A technique to keep consistency from what I made in blender to what it looks like in Secondlife.

We gotta wait for the upcoming PBR update for SL.