Lost half of my inventory in SL Viewer2

June Jurack

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4691 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

I lost about 15,000 items from my inventory. The folders are there but completely empty.
I am a designer and a builder and i am losing a important part of my work since 2007.
How can this happen? My viewer is Second Life Viewer 2.
Logging in Smith and emptying the cache didn't resolve.
Someone can help me to complain to LL? I can not access the "support ticket".

5 answers to this question

You may have more luck if you clear your cache manually. With Second Life closed, go to the appropriate pathway and delete all the files inside the "cache" folder.  (You may want to relocate any file of cached chat logs first.)

• Windows XP - C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\Application Data\SecondLife\cache
  • Windows Vista - C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\SecondLife\cache
  • Windows Vista Home Premium - C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\SecondLife\browser_profile\cache
  • Windows 7 - C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\SecondLife\browser_profile\Cache
  • Windows 7 - C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Local\SecondLife\ (Viewer version 1.23.5 (136262))
  • Mac - /Users/<username>/Library/Caches/SecondLife
  • Linux - ~/.secondlife/cache

Then log in a Smith or Pooley and jump start a rebuild of your cached inventory by opening inventory and typing any letter in the search field.  This will take a while, so be patient.  Don't do anything else until it is completely finished.  That should recover your missing items. If it doesn't, then it's time to file a support ticket at https://support.secondlife.com/create-case/ .

• Like 1

Well stated Rolig.  Finally someone made the distinction about the cache located at the:

C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\SecondLife