Auto-Script Updater & HTTP comms

Jettero Borkotron

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 463 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I would like to make an auto-script updater. I understand there are limitations with cross sim comms and email seems to be the only way... but then if an object gets re-rezzed or a sim restarted then the email address changes. So my client objects might lose contact with the updater object. Therefore my understanding is that it must somehow be done through an external website. 

Additionally I would like to maintain a database in an external website that I can send and retrieve information from (just names and numbers).

I have no experience of this and don't know where to start. Particularly I don't understand:

- Where / how to host the external website

- How I program it

- How to store the data

- How to send a script externally into sl for the script updater.

I can't find any tutorials on this anywhere and would be very grateful if someone could point me in the right direction. I do have some experience of scripting in SL and previous C++ hobby programmer, but have no experience with web stuff - which I probably why I'm coming across so clueless.

Thank you in advance for anyone who can point me in the right direction.

DNS for prims would be an awesome feature for LL to add.

I've done this before with a bit of PHP & MySQL on a web server. The prim would poke the external server, register itself, and when other prims wanted its in SL details they could poke the server too. I don't have anything running now and the code is long gone. There has to be some off the shelf examples, this isn't a new problem.

• Like 1

1 hour ago, Jettero Borkotron said:

How to send a script externally into sl for the script updater.

This step in particular is impossible (excluding the possibility of a manual copy/paste using the viewer). So that leaves only a few possibilities: