I Found the Christmas Expo Auction Very Confusing

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 490 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I have never done any SL auctions before this one. I bid on the 12-month Premium Plus package from Linden Lab. My understanding was that the auction ended at 9:59 AM on Sunday December 11. As it happens, that is also my husband's RL birthday, and a club we belong two threw a party for him and two other members who all (amazingly) also had their birthday on Dec 11. The party started at 10 AM SLT and hubby wanted to leave for the party at 9:30 but agreed to wait until 10:05 when the auction was all over so I could see if I won and place any last minute bids.

Then at 9:50 AM, someone made an announcement that the live auction would start at 10 AM SLT or so, and bidding would begin at the highest price from the silent (e.g. auction board) auction. Obviously I could not stay for the live auction because of the club's birthday party.

When I got back online at 4 PM SLT, I went and looked at the auction board. It said I was the winner but I had not received any sort of notification.  I decided to hold of paying until I could confirm this, as this auction was confusing. An official got back to me the next morning that I had been outbid at the live auction even though the silent auction board still said I was the "winner."

Are all SL auctions like this? if so, why bother having the silent auction before the live one? it is really confusing to "win" only to find out that it is really not so, and that bidding is continuing in a different format.

Edited by Teresa Firelight
added an accidentally ommitted word that changes meaning of sentence
  • Like 1
  • Confused 1
  • Sad 5

280704640_auctioninformation.png.a9b4820258fb20695b00820bf91cd9a5.png