Help! Model displaying differently in Blender/Zbrush

DulceDiva

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 528 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello. I am a beginner, still learning how to properly use Blender, Substance Painter and Zbrush. I have the GoZ Export/Import enabled. Now, my issue is:

My model looks nice and smooth in Blender. When exporting to Zbrush,it looks faceted. When importing back into Blender again, it still looks faceted, just like it does in Zbrush. Can anyone pinpoint what I'm doing wrong? Watched a couple of tutorials and still can't comprehend what the problem is :( Photos added below.

blender.png

zbrush.png

33 minutes ago, DulceDiva said:

Can anyone pinpoint what I'm doing wrong?

WHat happens is that the normals data is lost in transfer. I don't know how you made the normals smooth in the first place (there are at least thee different ways to do it it Blender) so I can't give you a detailed explanation. But first, do a quick check: Switch to edit mode in Blender and see if the shoe looks smooth or angular there. If it's angular, it's a modifier you haven't applied. Apply all modifiers and the problem should be sorted.

If that doesn't help, try to use a different file format when you export.

25 minutes ago, ChinRey said:

WHat happens is that the normals data is lost in transfer. I don't know how you made the normals smooth in the first place (there are at least thee different ways to do it it Blender) so I can't give you a detailed explanation. But first, do a quick check: Switch to edit mode in Blender and see if the shoe looks smooth or angular there. If it's angular, it's a modifier you haven't applied. Apply all modifiers and the problem should be sorted.

If that doesn't help, try to use a different file format when you export.