Building tips for a beginner?

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 478 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

New to SL and ready to fully jump into all it has to offer. Downloaded the game out of curiosity thinking it would be a one off thing, but I'm actually really enjoying my time here so far and want to try my hand at building. I'm a recent architecture graduate in RL so all the building / modeling aspects of SL seem to be right up my alley. Problem is, it's all so overwhelming and I have no idea where to even begin. Not sure if I'm necessarily posting in the right section, but I was wondering if anybody could share some advice for a newbie on where to start with this sort of thing.

For context, I really want to purchase a parcel of land and build a bar. I'm aware it's not the best business model and that everyone and their mother on SL has already done so, but I'm solely doing this for fun and not necessarily looking to profit off of it. I don't mind pouring a bit of my own money into it either, as I imagine it's inevitable that I'd have to, but I am still trying to budget myself without spending hundreds of dollars a month. My biggest questions right now are:

-What land is best for commercial use? Are there any particular rentals I should be looking at? Size, prims, etc. for what I'm trying to do?

-When is it more practical to upload custom meshes vs. building with prims in game? For example, if I were looking to create a custom bar counter - is that something that I'd be better off modeling on my own in another program / purchasing a mesh off the marketplace? Or is it something I can just build in game using prims and still have it look decent?