How to upload a tree to Second Life

NixSteven

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 566 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi There,

I am new to Blender and learning how to create simple things and upload them into SL. I want to create a simple tree (non-animated) and upload it to SL. I am using Blender 3.1 and so far I have managed to make a tree/leaves and apply texture to the tree trunk and branches. But I really do not understand how to do the UV mapping ( I have Alpha texture for leaves, wood texture for the trunk and the branches. So 3 separate parts) Also i'm not sure how to reduce the prim count, what physics model to use to upload. Can anyone help me to provide some guidance or some links to tutorials please?

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks a lot!

1696371052_ShadingView.thumb.jpg.32b8d4a357098bedaf0d25976e880f09.jpg

image.thumb.png.792702ce3a8d86cad190345388c34c0c.png

9 hours ago, NixSteven said:

Hi There,

I am new to Blender and learning how to create simple things and upload them into SL. I want to create a simple tree (non-animated) and upload it to SL.

That's great but... ummm... the words "simple" and "tree" don''t really go well together in SL Unless we're talking about basic "crossed sheets witha cylinder trunk" trees (and we're not), it's one of the most complicated, maybe even the most complicated, meshes we can make for Second Life and I would struggle to name ten content creators who know how to do it well.

If you're fairly new to mesh making you might want to start with something easier. But then again, if you really want a challenge...

Let's start at the wrong end since one of your questions is the easiest to answer and one that for some weird reason even many of the people on my hypotetical list of less than ten masters are struggling with:

10 hours ago, NixSteven said:

what physics model to use to upload.