Transparency fails no matter what I do?

CrashCrazE13

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 663 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi, I'm fairly new to SL, but I'm assisting a client with their SL asset store (I'm a 3D game artist) and I am having an issue I've never had in any other engine or software:

No matter what format (32-bit albedo/color targa w/ alpha channel, PNG with transparent regions, all TGAs with alpha channel, etc) my meshes have no transparency. I've tried to find a solution anywhere from YouTube to any forum on the internet, but most commonly the issue is beginners not understanding alpha channels.

I use Autodesk Maya 2022 with Adobe Photoshop 2021. I have tried both Second Life Viewer and Firestorm build viewer 6.5.35 (Build > Upload > Mesh Model in both applications) and have the same issue. I've tried the asset in a game engine I'm more familiar with, Unity, and it works fine with alpha blending set to cutout. I do not see an option for alpha blending in the viewers. Aside from albedo with transparency, my other maps are a normal map, and a specular map. I have tried flattening images before exporting the TGA/PNG, but nothing was different. I tried having the 32-bit TGA albedo or the PNG albedo as the only texture associated with my mesh to see if specularity or normals were the issue, but nothing changed. I tried a simple cube  two ways, one a 32-bit TGA checkerboard pattern and the other a PNG, but both cubes were opaque in the viewers even though transparency was successful in Maya.

The predominant area with this issue is the fried egg white (black edges), but the tomato pulp should be semi-transparent as well.

Here is a Drive folder with images to help:

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1fGd-wsmtNOIWoKR2FFSizV9t8vbjZL5i?usp=sharing

Is there any solution? Has anyone had this issue?

Thank you in advance.

• Like 1

14 minutes ago, CrashCrazE13 said: