Second Life ignoring Blender's auto smoothing when multiple objects are joined

Xennified

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 701 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Blender's auto-smoothing generally imports well enough (though not perfectly), but I've been having issues when I join multiple objects together where sometimes an object (or rather, what used to be an object) will be all sharp edges and I can't figure out why or what I'm doing wrong. I've tried not smoothing them in blender until after the objects are joined, and that didn't help. Everything looks fine in Blender and changing the auto-smoothing angle in Blender doesn't help either.

I don't really want to upload my models as huge linksets so if anyone knows what I'm doing wrong I would massively appreciate help. I'm still on Blender 2.79b if that changes anything, I'm still learning and didn't want a massive UI change throwing me off until I know what I'm doing.

Edit: Thought I'd got it when I remembered booleans exist but... Nope. It still does the same thing.

blender_2022-05-19_13-20-17.png

Firestorm-Releasex64_2022-05-19_13-20-11.png

Edited by Xennified

It is the booleans that you have used that have messed up your geometry. Since the verts aren't matching up, sharps applied and vertex normals are going to clash. In the file I see the cylinder shape is quite mishapen at the ends. There are ways to connect these objects together, if you really really really want to, just look up Blender Secrets or other on YT if you want to clean up the mesh with all the boolean verts

image.png.efd3d1d18ba90a70fa27530d4a597853.png

Model each piece seperately that way your sharps and normals will be fine.

image.thumb.png.e28ea84f424acbc8afd671ed619598bd.png

then join them up into the same mesh.

image.thumb.png.4d5d53581d79f4e5b173b97a946e6d6f.png