Better Recording : Stop the 'Stutter Stop'

Feorie Frimon

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 902 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I am a -super- novice machinima person and I'd really like to try and 'up my game' when it comes to recording in world. I'm upgrading to a 'radial mouse' and I think that will help address some of the issues I'm having with the 'smoothness' of the recordings I'm getting. I don't think it's going to fix it completely, though, and I'm pretty sure it's a 'settings' thing on my end. I need some help from the pros. :) 

Exhibit A: 'The Chicken Video'

20 seconds in you'll see a really good example of what I'm talking about. It's almost like the frame rate is wrong? Or too...slow or something? There are gaps in the movement of the chicken moving it's head up and down. 

Exhibit B: Dancing (Fair Warning: Moderate Content)

This is a quick screen grab I did of myself dancing at a very busy club. You can see where it almost seems like the video isn't grabbing the full scope of movement. 

To add a little more context - this seems to happen when I bump my graphics up SUPER high, increase my draw distance way up, or I'm in a super lagged area AND I'm trying to record whatever is on my screen with Camtasia. 

Any advice? Or bail on Camtasia? Or adjust the fps? 

21 hours ago, Macedonio Ashley said:

Hi Feorie, if u viewer cant reach more than 60 fps then there is no need to export a video in 60 FPS,  try Alchemy with that viewer u can get more FPS than Firestorm, or Black Dragon if u have a good pc. Try to record screen with OBS , no stuttering there

I will try it! Thank you 😊