Suggestions for Encouraging Migration from Bellisseria to the Mainland

Rufferta

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 784 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Some employees of Linden Labs have said that Bellisserian homes are considered ‘starter homes’ for new residents but it seems that a lot of folks just want to stay there. Here are some of my suggestions to encourage migration to the Mainland by making it easier for them to find new places.

Establish penalties for sellers who lie in their real estate listings:

I just spent several days looking for affordable 1024 plots on the Mainland. Sellers’ ads were often misleading and stated that parcels had  “water access” or “protected roadside” when they did not.. Some said that the land was ‘for sale’ when in fact the fee was a rental fee. One even stated that their land was on a different continent. If I was a new resident who bought “water land with sailing access” and then found myself on a water locked prim raft with no recourse I would be angry, and my anger would extend to Second Life in general.

Figure out how to get ‘how to buy land’ information to newcomers.

The Second Life web page has an excellent introduction, but it doesn’t provide much information to protect against sellers who are not operating in good faith.  

There are many private residents who are trying to help newcomers.

Feorie  Frimon, for example has an excellent business, Operation Mainland Real Estate, where she sells parcels she has carved out of unclaimed land,, but I’m not sure information about this is getting out to newcomers.

http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/Bay City - Handa/14/59/27

Lindal Kidd used to give excellent lectures on “How to Buy Land” at Oxbridge University in Caledon, but I could find nothing like that currently.