Why do system alpha layers work on some mesh bodies, but not others?

TheKhajiit

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 880 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I've been playing around with the free eBody curvy and a demo of the paid version. Both of them use a BOM relay to bake your skin onto the body. Wearing an alpha layer on the free version does nothing, but on the paid version that alpha will bake onto the body. I understand the free version is probably missing the feature intentionally, but I'm wondering what the mechanics behind this are? I didn't realize alpha could work with BOM at all. I could swear I've been told that it doesn't.

I'm sorry if this question is dumb but I'm still new to mesh.

The BoM relay should work the same on both bodies, i hadn't noticed it working differently to expected on a free version using alt when i tried it. the only limitation on the free version of the body are all HUD based. If you are looking in to getting an eBody do check out the new "Reborn" body it doesn't require a relay to do BoM and has better mainstream, content readily available on the weekend sales circuit support in the the short time it's been out than eBody 'regular' and curvy has ever had

1 hour ago, TheKhajiit said:

I've been playing around with the free eBody curvy and a demo of the paid version. Both of them use a BOM relay to bake your skin onto the body. Wearing an alpha layer on the free version does nothing, but on the paid version that alpha will bake onto the body. I understand the free version is probably missing the feature intentionally, but I'm wondering what the mechanics behind this are? I didn't realize alpha could work with BOM at all. I could swear I've been told that it doesn't.

I'm sorry if this question is dumb but I'm still new to mesh.