Newbie here...just bought land and want to clear it...how?

Patriciaszoo

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 915 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

Thank you - to all - for your responses.  I decided to put my parcel back up for sale until I learn a lot more about the game.  I thought my experience with various mmorpg's would allow me to learn Second Life quickly and easily.  Not the case.  Second Life involves a lot of technical detail with which I've never had any experience.  I believe I'll keep my premium membership but pull back on owning land until I know more.  Meantime, I'm getting some really obscene, nasty messages which I'd like to prevent.  Would any of you guys be kind enough to let me know how to do that? And perhaps incorporate a filter so that these sort of message are unable to pass through?  

Edited by Patriciaszoo
Update message

7 answers to this question

If your land has "several" houses on it,  that's one BIG parcel.  And it can't possibly be a Linden Home parcel. There are too many unknowns here for anyone to give you good advice.  We can't even be sure whether you really bought the land or are renting it. I think you ought to invite someone to visit and see what's going on. (Not me.  I am not at home now and cannot log in to SL.)

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

It sounds like you may have bought land that is part of the Linden homes land, which means a house and certain objects are included in that sale.  If this is the case then you need to simply go into the land details, choose the option to "abandon" the land, and go looking for a parcel elsewhere that you can build on yourself. The mainland is a HUGE place.  

There is nothing stopping you from having a Linden home as well as other land too. 

Have a good read up please about land ownership in Second Life. It's a good starting point. 

http://wiki.secondlife.com/wiki/Land_Buying_FAQ