Making Custom Animations for Other People's Avatars?

Tenzin Knickers

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 941 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Apologies, I have no idea how to begin wording my question for the title since I've racked my brain trying to think of any possible combination to get my answer before caving.

Basically, I want to know how to make animations for existing avatars, in my case, I'm trying to make a custom animation for my Hallowpup dude. I have Avastar, but when I try to import the .xml from the game to Blender, it just gives me a rigged humanoid model. I'm a complete newbie at making animations, especially in the sense where I want to make them for TWI, M.O.R, or any other existing feral avatars, so any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Start off with Qavimator, it's simpler and doesn't include the bento bones so as a learning-tool it's ideal.

You'll need to get a login to the beta grid to upload and test your bvh files without incurring costs (trivial I know, but I often go through 5-10 iterations before I get a result I'm happy with)

8 hours ago, DemeaningDog said:

Basically, I want to know how to make animations for existing avatars, in my case, I'm trying to make a custom animation for my Hallowpup dude. I have Avastar, but when I try to import the .xml from the game to Blender, it just gives me a rigged humanoid model. I'm a complete newbie at making animations, especially in the sense where I want to make them for TWI, M.O.R, or any other existing feral avatars, so any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

First off, and perhaps is a mistype, the animation formats for SL, exported by Avastar, are either bvh or anim. Xml is used for avatar shapes.