Why firestorm viewer?

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 996 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

For me it's mainly because of Beq. I'm a builder and she has done a lot of good work adding some really useful tools for us content creators recently. It helps a lot that she's a good content creator herself so she understands better than LL's developers what we actually need. I also use the area search tool a lot.

Generally speaking, Firestorm is the SL viewer with a bunch of extra fucntionalities added. If you need some of those extras - and most advanced users do - then go for Firestorm. If you don't, the SL viewer is probably a marginally better option.

• Like 10
  • Thanks 1

The S/L viewer does not include a Grid Manager so can only use it for secondlife. Firestorm is Opensim friendly so I don't have to use 2 different viewers depending on the grid I am logging into. That along with the Area Search function as well as a few other features, make it a no brainer.

• Like 5

I've never much liked Firestorm, I'm afraid.    I use it when I have to, for testing purposes, but I find it overloaded with functionality I hardly ever need to use, while it's slow to catch up with new features introduced by the Official Viewer or (for RLVa) by Catznip, the RLVa reference viewer.

Meanwhile, Catznip has all the Third Party Viewer features I find useful (and few that I don't), looks and feels like the Official Viewer, and has what I consider the best set-up for outfits of any of the viewers.

When it comes to building, I've not yet found much in Firestorm I can't do using the Official Viewer on its own or, if I need to, by writing simple scripts to do what Firestorm does with what to me seem rather clunky tools.