You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1044 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello, I'm very new to rigging meshes and my understanding of the COLLADA format is limited.
I do not have Avastar and use Blender exclusively.
I have modeled a robe for the Solarian Avatar (later tried to rig it to the default male body from the wiki only to be met with the same issues)
I have been tweaking around with the uploading options for hours and I still cannot get my mesh to upload properly. ) :
All help is greatly appreciated!

The joints seem fine in the mesh preview when uploading, the mesh faces the same direction as the armature in the preview when skin weights are deselected.

So far I have tried :
general 

• Working with the model facing the X axis in Blender
  • Applying all transformations
  • Parenting the robe to the armature using automatic weights
  • Cleaning up the unused vertex groups with a plugin
  • Cleaning up the seemingly unused vertex groups by hand
  • Getting rid of all vertex groups attached to bones that start with "m" (like mWristLeft), as suggested by a tutorial
  • Entering the custom properties recommended on the Avastar website before exporting into the armature and robe alike
  • Object>Clean Vertex Group Weights
  • Object>Limit Total Vertex Groups

exporting

• Exporting using the SL rigged mesh preset
  • Storing bind info + not storing it
  • All Global Orientation options with Z as the head + apply global orientation checked and unchecked combinations as well

in-game

• skin weights, joint position overrides
  • include joint positions  = non-identity bind shape rot. mat is { -0.46309, 0, 0, 0; 0, -0.91281, 0, 0; 0, 0, 1.51221, 0; 0.0213797, -0.0024529, 1.00136, 1 } bind_rot { 0, 0, 1, 0 } in the Log menu
  • "Warning: bind shape matrix is not in standard X-forward orientation." apprears no matter what I do with the model or with the exporting global orientation options.