Mesh: Does it make normal avatar skin and shape design redundant?

Saru Mukaida

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4145 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi,

I'm a very fledgling skin designer and I admit that I haven't kept up with the development of mesh as much as I should have. So my understanding of it is very limited, can someone help me with some very simple questions?

1. Does mesh make skin design irrelevant, will it all now be done in apps like 3dsmax etc?

2. If someone is wearing a mesh, can they alter their shape or customize their shape to the degree you can do currently?

3. Will mesh designed clothing fit standard avatars or only mesh designed avatars?

Although I'm sure many mesh avatar makers will create custom human avatars with mesh, there are no plans that I know of to replace the current default avatar mesh. Customization using the inworld shape setting is very limited, if it is even working. Sorry, I've not played too much with custom mesh avatars. Most mesh clothing will be created to fit any avatar, as these will probably be created in pieces and attached as needed.

Really tho, there is no reason to stop making skins using the SL template. If there does become a popular mesh avatar, or a change of the default, then I'm sure you will get a new template. Any adoption of a new avatar mesh will be extremely slow, as SL tattoos, clothing, and other layers will not work on the new mesh. So unless the mesh avatar maker is going to hand the templates out for every1 to create accessories for it, then few are going to jump at any new human mesh.

Like I said tho, I've not played with avatar meshes much, so some1 please correct me if I'm wrong.

• Like 1

Hi Saru,

I sent you a copy of my "Experimental Mesh Avatar" on the beta grid (Aditi) to play with.  To answer your questions: