Best Farmland Locations?

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1082 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello forum, I'm very new to SL and looking for suggestions on best place to purchase farmland. I've been searching the land map and a few realty companies, and have located several plots for sale, but being new I have no idea of which areas would be best. Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance. 

@CruelN10tions

I would recommend looking on the mainland continents of Jeogoet, Satori and Corsica, as they're mostly big, wide, flat and have lots of abandoned land parcels.

If you want to add in (terraform) some water irrigation channels, rivers or lakes, get a parcel as near to the water table altitude of 20 metres, as continent's central interiors are usually at a much higher altitude where terraforming down to water level (at 20 metres altitude) is either very difficult or impossible. Alternatively, buy mesh water features to rez out and simulate it instead, as their realism and quality has improved a lot in recent years.

Edited by SarahKB7 Koskinen

@SarahKB7 Koskinen @Rabid CheetahThank you very much for the responses. I will definitely take a look at the continents suggested. I'd been watching some youtube videos and reading up on SL land ownership, and based on your responses here I think I may have misunderstood a few things 🤪. I was under the impression that land was zoned for certain activities; residential, commercial, etc and that zoning also included agricultural/farming land. I thought that I would need to purchase land in a specific area(s) in order to build a farm (w/barns, animals, crops, etc.).  It made sense, as I guessed that people living in certain areas wouldn't want a a farm next door, for aesthetic reasons. Thank you both again 😊

3 minutes ago, CruelN10tions said: