Problem with linked mesh not working properly with custom LODs. (Material of model is not a subset of reference material)

elainewatson

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1075 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Firstly I'd like to state that I've been uploading mesh for years and have many years experience with making mesh and custom LODs.

My problem is this.. I recently switched from 3DS Max to Blender and the method that worked in 3DS Max doesn't work in Blender. Say I have an arch and, in the middle of that arch on the ground, I have a cube for my anchor point (I work a lot with modular building.) When I import that arch and cube into the upload system it's fine.. But then when I try to add my custom LOD it says "Material of model is not a subset of reference material." I've triple checked to make sure that the LOD and the model are both using the same materials and same number of materials. When I upload them WITHOUT the linked parts - it works just fine. It's only when I introduce linked parts to the LOD that it refuses to work.

Now one would assume that LODs don't need, or can't even USE linked parts but when I try to upload it without a linked part it either tells me that the LOD is the same number of triangles as the main mesh or it just says "N/A."

I know all about the naming systems and such and I've tried everything to work it out but it just doesn't want to know.

So, in summary:

What is the process to upload mesh that has linked parts, with custom LODs, from Blender to Second Life? Should the LODs have no linked parts to them? Upon reflection that would make sense but then I have the issue where it seems to get confused by the different number of mesh models. The main model having two yet the LOD having only the one.

As I said - in 3DS Max this wasn't an issue as I've made a lot of modular things that implemented this technique but there must be something I'm missing in Blender.