Group Chat Oddity

Phil Deakins

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1102 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I know that group chat can be problematic but has anyone come across it where some people cannot contribute to, or receive, group chat while others can?

It's been happening for a couple of days now. I've checked the roles and abilities and everything is set ok.

I'm wondering if it's something that's known to happen.

I'm not sure about not being allowed to send chat, but the registration for receiving group chat can be weird.  It seems like you're only registered if you open it for a group manually, or were allowed to receive it when you log in.  So it seems like you don't receive it if you just joined and haven't either opened it manually or relogged.  I've also still been registered and received chat after leaving a group, before relogging.

Thank you for your reply, @Sayrah Parx

I am an officer in the group, not new to it. The person who asked me about the problem, has been initiating group chat every day for some time - a good morning message. As of yesterday, neither of us can start a group chat or receive it. Another person in the group can still send and receive.

While looking into it, I did see that there is an ability to moderate group chat. Is it possible for someone who has that ability to ban others from group chat? And, if so, where would a list of those who are banned be?

13 minutes ago, Phil Deakins said:

Is it possible for someone who has that ability to ban others from group chat? And, if so, where would a list of those who are banned be?

on the Group dialog, is on  Roles & Members page. Banned Residents tab

Thank you @Mollymews