well its worth a shot i guess

Jinx Lavarock

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1092 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I won't lie. I've had some really bad experiences that have caused me to be more and more closed off and kind of just recently left every SL server I was in in a fit of anxiety because well. I don't feel like I fit in? And every time I made a human avatar based on how I actually look, people would be really really gross about it and make all kinds of bad assumptions about me [which in turn with the avatar based on me, made me have worse self image issues...yikes] and I just gave up and decided to be anime. And on top of that, everyone had a specific look and I just didn't fit in that. I was too scared to post because I thought people would say those gross things again or make unwanted rude remarks about how my avi isnt their cup of tea, so i left. Sorry that was rambly, basically I guess what I'm asking is how does anyone like...find people on sl like them? How do I start feeling less insecure messing with my avatar in this? I've joined other anime groups but they're full of horny bigoted weirdos. Maybe it's my social anxiety that makes it hard even in online spaces but I can't help it. I"m terrified of getting those comments and assumptions again because they made me sick to my stomach. Sorry that was really upsetting it's just been weighing on me. It just breaks my heart because SL has become a huge interest for me and a great way to express myself creatively and I just don't want to have to drop it because of a few bad apples. I wanna have fun again. There's gotta be good people out there, right? right?