Hmm

Cayllin

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4684 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

So I'm completely new to SL. I have no idea what I'm doing and how to change my avi or anything. Getting frustrated cause I bought a few items and I cannot use them on my avatar. Its like showing up as if its holding a box instead of being on the avatar itself. I must be doing it wrong... Please help! Haha. ^.^;

Welcome to SL!

The items you buy in SL mostly come delivered in a box. You must drag the box to the ground, click right on it and choose "copy to inventory". It will create a folder in which all the elements of your purchase will be. (For instance, if it is an outfit, the folder has the name of the outfit and inside are shirt, pants, jacket, etc).

Dragging your boxed items to the ground is the most convenient way to set them down. You can also wear them on your hand, then right click on them & select "Drop".  Then right click on the box to "Open" it & "Copy to Inventory" the items inside.  Some packaging will open automatically when you touch it, but most needs to be opened by right clicking on it.

Some items you buy go into your inventory in their own folders, without you having to open their packages this way.

Btw, once you start buying things & picking up freebies, it's a good idea to put them into Inventory folders to keep track of them.  SL inventory can quickly get unmanagable if you don't.

There is lots & lots of free & inexpensive stuff in SL, which can be both wonderful & overwhelming.

Once you have copied the content of the box to your inventory, the box is empty (unless it a "copy" item). So you don't need to leave the box on the ground. If it empty, click right and "delete". If it still has content, click right and "take".