How does family RP work? How to find a good family?

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 87 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm a complete newb to RPing on SL but I'd like to get into it.ย  I've gotten really into the Beyou system (when you are basically playing a sim and have to eat, keep yourself clean,etc)ย 

When I first got into SL, I joined a family and I thought it was just some cool people to hang out with.ย  But it was more of a recruitment funnel for a vampire game and weird and sex thing. I also had to wear a collar that took away a lot of SL freedoms. Of course I was out of there when I found out that's what was going on. I'm OK with adult stuff, but I don't really care for how collars work.

So, anyway. How does family RP work? What do you guys expect from a family member? Any thing else you'd like to comment or suggest?

Thanks!

ย  ย It varies widely, depending on the family. Everything from what you mentioned with the collars and adult stuff, to entirely IC relations that function much like you would expect regular family relations to work, with different roles and dynamics, to people who just decide to stick together because they enjoy each other with little if any RP involved at all.

ย  ย It's all about finding the people that are right for you. My SL sisters, daughters, mother and aunts has been there for years - so far none of those bonds has been broken, even when there's been disagreements and bickering. Some have left SL, but should they return they know where they've got the rest of us.