Hair not rendering properly all of a sudden

Dragonlord1269

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1168 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

Hello and thanks for reading this:

I'm new to SL, and I have an issue with my hair all of a sudden for no known reason. The hair falling on my chest doesn't render like it has been for the past 2 weeks. It just started last night when I put a new shirt I bought on. But now with it off, and switching to or from any other outfit it happens. If I detach/add the hair it's fine, but as soon as I change outfits it comes back.

I'm using Firestorm Viewer (updated), Signature Gianni v5.0 body (SL Neck) (BOM), Signature Gianni Default skin 5, Lelutka Skyler 2.5 head (BOM), Lelutka Skyler shape, no.match_No_Wither hair, ALPHA MASK (BOM Head/Body, Applier eyes.

Snapshot _ Hair not rendering properly

The lighter color isn't supposed to be there. I assume it's something of the entire shape of the style but it isn't supposed to be visible.

Correct hair_002

Correct hair rendering

Thank you for taking the time to read this, and, or responding to it. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

16 answers to this question

Thanks for giving us the list of what you're wearing, @Dragonlord1269. That's always useful information to work with. I suspect, though, that what's causing the problem is something that you haven't listed. ;)

The issue isn't with your hair; it's either with your tattoo or your body hair (if the body hair is an add-on and not part of the skin itself). The alpha you've listed suggests that you're fully BoM for everything except your eyes, so my guess is that the tattoo and/or body hair are appliers. The fact that the tattoo stops very abruptly at the neck join would suggest it's that part, as a BoM (system layer) tattoo would progress further up the neck.