Blender best practices for texturing.

Alma Palmira

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1195 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Blender is frustrating for me sometimes (most of the time actually.) I really enjoy it but ARGH, sometimes it feels like I'm beating my head against a wall. I'm self taught, and have been using it for years, which means I have a lot of vertical knowledge in some areas and embarrassing gaps in others. I know that in blender there is sometimes multiple ways to accomplish the same thing. But I can't help but wonder sometimes if the root of my problems and frustrations are because my workflow is ignorant. 

Texturing is one of those areas. I use Eevee for most of the building part, then switch to Cycles when I am trying to light and texture my model. I have successfully created a texture, with AO and shading all within Blender. But to be honest, I am tempted to just create AO and shadow maps, save those to my working folder, and then bring them into Photoshop to really play with the texture. (I have 35 years in Photoshop experience.) Once I get them where I want them I upload those separately into SL to place on my model. Is this Kosher? Am I short changing myself to do it this way? Is there a better way of creating textures? Also, just as a side question, is using shading nodes a better way of accomplishing this? They scare and confuse me, they are overwhelming, but look VERY powerful with more control. Is it worth the frustration learning how to use them for SL models?

19 minutes ago, Alma Palmira said:

They scare and confuse me, they are overwhelming, but look VERY powerful with more control. Is it worth the frustration learning how to use them for SL models

Learning something is always worth per se. After you go through the process, only then you can answer your own question:

21 minutes ago, Alma Palmira said: