How to Add Edge Shadow to Upholstery Texture

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4799 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

You know how you can purchase an upholstery or other fabric texture with a blended shadow around all four edges?  Well, if you have a plain upholstery texture and you want to add that shadow, how do you do that in GIMP?  (Please give thestep-by-step "dummies" answer.  lol.   I'm still learning how to use GIMP.)

Thanks for the help!