Secondlife and Wifi

Celestria Niosaki

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1230 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

Does secondlife no longer run on wifi??  I have been using secondlife for many years on wifi but since the new update and now even the older versions does not work on wifi.  I have put in a ticket to both linden labs and firestorm and they state it's my connection.  I contacted my provider and my connection is fine.  I have other programs I use on wifi and they run just fine on my connection including playstation games.  This is what happens... I log into secondlife viewer and firestorm viewer and within 30 seconds give or take my avi freezes and then the viewer quits, stating it has lost connection.  I have tried everything so I am wondering if the game just doesn't support wifi connections anymore.  If anyone else has had this problem and knows how to solve it or if someone knows that wifi isn't supported anymore please let me know.  I will then let linden labs and firestorm know, that is the problem.   

11 answers to this question

Linden Lab has advised against using wifi for many many years, back to at least 2010 and probably before that.  There are way too many potential sources of interference from nearby electrical equipment and your overhead fluorescent fixtures to your neighbor's garage door opener.  You're almost always better off using a direct cable connection.  Having said that, many people use wifi all the time with no trouble at all.  It all depends on how reliable your router and modem are and how noisy the area around them is.

Edited by Rolig Loon
  • Like 3