Backup a large inventory folder

Nymphaea85

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1239 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm quite new to SL, I hope you excuse my noobish question :)

I sorted my inventory stuff under 'objects' and wanted to make a copy of this folder as an backup. I noticed that the duplicated folder contains significantly less objects. None of the missing objects are 'no copy'. I assume those objects are simply not pasted due to the large number of files.

Am I doing something wrong or is there a workaround? Thanks in advance!

27 minutes ago, Nymphaea85 said:

I'm quite new to SL, I hope you excuse my noobish question :)

I sorted my inventory stuff under 'objects' and wanted to make a copy of this folder as an backup. I noticed that the duplicated folder contains significantly less objects. None of the missing objects are 'no copy'. I assume those objects are simply not pasted due to the large number of files.

Am I doing something wrong or is there a workaround? Thanks in advance!

Making a complete copy of a folder in your inventory is usually a very bad way of creating a backup.  That just increases your inventory size without really giving you the security that you are wanting.

Most people that create backups of things, put copies into one or more boxes and then locate those boxes in a different folder in their inventory.

Edited by LittleMe Jewell
  • Like 3

I was jus about to chime in & say the same as @LittleMe Jewell.  You are better off creating a box & then dropping copies into said box.   Then you can create a folder called "BackUps" (or whatever you want obvs) and put said box into that folder.    FWIW I break my objects down into categories & put them in appropriately named folders, otherwise you end up with one folder & hundreds, if not thousands, of objects - impossible to manage.

Edited by Horus Salubrius

1 hour ago, connormacbride said: