Second Life Culture

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 261 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hey everyone I am a university student doing a masters degree in anthropology and I wanted to ask a few questions?

All of you data will be kept anonymous and none of it will be published, I just need to conduct research for a small research project.

What are the cultures in Second Life and can you describe yours? What does it mean to you?

Is your identity in Second Life more important than your real life identity?

How were your communities created?

Anything else you would like to tell me go ahead

• Confused 1
  • Sad 4

1 hour ago, GiloGiles said:

Hey everyone I am a university student doing a masters degree in anthropology and I wanted to ask a few questions?

All of you data will be kept anonymous and none of it will be published, I just need to conduct research for a small research project.

What are the cultures in Second Life and can you describe yours? What does it mean to you?

My SL identity is a part of myself that only gets exposed here. My personality is the same whether it be SL or RL. So for me, there is no difference in importance. 

Here, we can be our perfect selves on an appearance level. The rest is "just us", as imperfect as our RL selves. 

Our friendships here are very real, even if they don't go into RL. I can't speak for everyone, but that has been the consensus of most I have chatted with. Some of us CAN get emotionally hurt here, or hurt others.  I was upset with a dear friend because she didn't tell me she was going to be away from SL for a month.