Mesh scale for buildings

PaxBrewer

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1266 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hey everyone,

I'm kinda new to creating content for SL and worked on a house recently. However, when I imported a few test meshes to work out the dimensions I noticed that the scale seemed a bit off. I made my avatar exactly 2m for testing purposes and imported a 2x2x2m cube from Blender. For some odd reason that cube was smaller than my avatar, more like 1.7x1.7x1.7m. Am I missing out on some important settings here?

My avatar is 2.12m tall. I created a test cube in Blender, set the z dimension to 2.12m, and imported it into SL. It was exactly the same height as my avatar. When you uploaded your test model into SL, did you use the Scale option ( under the Upload Options tab) to reduce it before uploading? 

6 hours ago, PaxBrewer said:

Hey everyone,

I'm kinda new to creating content for SL and worked on a house recently. However, when I imported a few test meshes to work out the dimensions I noticed that the scale seemed a bit off. I made my avatar exactly 2m for testing purposes and imported a 2x2x2m cube from Blender. For some odd reason that cube was smaller than my avatar, more like 1.7x1.7x1.7m. Am I missing out on some important settings here?

The avatar size is the one that is wrong. This is an old bug that has never been fixed and probably never will be.

As @ChinRey said. "Avatar height" is broken in more ways than it's possible to count. "Agent height" - what you see when editing your shape, calculated from the values of your shape and also the value for your "height" that is accessible by scripts, underestimates your actual "measured by a prim" height by a variable amount AND fails to take into account any subsequent "adjustments" caused by animations, hover height, shoe-bases etc..