Starter RP?

CopenhagenBlack

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 288 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

So i am new to secondlife and roleplaying in general but i like the idea of making characters and stuff like that, the question is how do i get into roleplaying, is there places for people just starting in it? Any skills required? And stuff like that, any answers would be appreciated since this is something i would like to get into.

Most roleplay sims will tell you the usual things about godmodding, metagaming and whatever.  Really, to me, roleplay is just like a literary muscle. The more you work at it, the better you'll become. Try to make characters that are reasonable, for example take urban/modern sims. You'll run across characters that are mob bosses, mob enforcers, mob hitmen, but you never see bagmen or counterfeiters. You can't have three encounters with PCs until you run into Ye-Generic-Rich-Dude-In-A-Suit, but I've only seen one person that was homeless. Make a character that's interesting, sure but don't go overboard. I find a loose background of your character allows you to fill in details as they come to you, maybe keep a notecard of facts you've given to people or things that have developed as your character is played.

I guess really to sum up a lot, just make a realistic character, develop as you RP and don't be a dick. :)

24 minutes ago, Harley Ravenhurst said: