Inzec

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1338 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

Hello everyone! I am new to Secondlife and have been trying to set up my avatar for the past couple of days. I have been working on the body and head for all of a day just trying to get everything to work and flow just right i.e skin matching no lines in the neck etc. i havent had help and i have had to figure things out on my own and it can just be frustrating at times. Luckly i have gotten my avatar to a place a like but theres just one last thing, MAKEUP! i am curretnly using the catwa catya head and the maitryea body. i purchased the yokai mega makeup head and was wanting to use it on the face. i tried applying it earlier today with no luck of it showing and after playing around with it took a break out of frustration. when i logged back on BAM, it was magically on!! i was so happy and went to finish setting up my avatar but i did something and it was gone..i tried to get it back unequipping the head and adding it back on so n and so forth but nothing work!! im at a standstill i really enjoy this game and really like the avatar im creating but i just cant get it right! if anyone has advice or knows how to fix this it would be GREATLY appreciated!!!  

help.png

Here is a screen grab of what i am working with. whenever i select the makeup style i would like to use it says "attempting to apply to head tattoo" but nothing ever comes up. What is a head tattoo? should i already have this or is it something i need to buy?

2 answers to this question

Hoo boy.  Avatar appearance in SL has really become a minefield.  This is because, over the years, so many different abilities have been added.

Please start by reading this blog post: https://acrossthegridwithlindal.blogspot.com/2020/08/bakes-on-mesh-overview.html

(It's OK...I'll wait while you do that).

(Some time later:)