Separate cache for separate avatars on the second life viewer

SassySister2

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1348 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I am using the second life viewer. I have two avatars. One I use for building, learning and decorating which has a large inventory. The other I use to explore, go to concerts and have fun in second life. I have heard that it is better to have separate cache for each to help from keeping my fun avatar from bogging down. Can anyone give me some knowledge here. I am not very technical, so I will need thorough explanations. Thank you for your time and assistance.

The most easy way to is create two accounts on your computer OS and define different locations for the caches on your drive(s).

I use an alt for testing and building but with same account for logon on my Windows 10 system. Cache is same and I do not normally have any problems. If inventory or texture cache problems, the simple solution if just to delete the cache, it is automatically rebuild next time you log into SL.

So I would say, there is no need to have separate caches.

The simplest solution is to have a different viewer, the builder has one and the explorer another, each gets a unique cache.

Trying to define two different caches for one viewer is awkward, but not impossible. It requires having two folders, one for each avatar, and whichever avatar is not logged in has the cache folder name altered, say by adding the avatar name to the end of it. The cache file for the avatar which is actually logged in does not have the appended name. You have to remember to rename the folders before logging in with a different avatar and it's easy to forget and mix them up.

Assume the viewer in question has a cache folder MyCache.

Create two folders MyCache_avatar1 and MyCache_Avatar2

Before logging in avatar1, rename MyCache_avatar1 to MyCache.