Sim ownership noob seeking clarification on transfers

Steffan Mielziner

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1321 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I've never owned a full sim before, but I finally decided today that I'd pull the trigger on that.  Of course, it seems that full private regions are not being allocated until the cloud deploys to AWS and Google are stabilized ... estimated to be a few months away yet.  My luck.  It seems that people sometimes put their full sims up for sale here.  So, being a complete noob at sim ownership and transfers, I wanted to make sure I understand this process before I even think about throwing large amounts of cash around.

Please correct me if my understanding here is wrong ...

Full private sims started, years ago, at a monthly maintenance fee of USD$195.  At some point, a bunch of new servers were deployed and the fee went up to USD$279 for new sims.  Everyone that already had a sim was "grandfathered" (aka GF) at that lower original price.  Then, the grandfathered monthly fee dropped from USD$195 to USD$179 and the regular/non-grandfathered (aka non-GF) dropped from USD$279 to USD$229.  Linden Labs will honor the GF monthly fee, if the sim was GFed, during a transfer for a transfer fee of USD$300.  Otherwise, the transfer fee from non-GF to non-GF or GF to non-GF is USD$100.  The seller and buyer need to both submit support tickets to effect the transfer.  The seller pays the transfer fee from the buyer's payment in L$.  Therefore, the agreed upon purchase price must exceed the L$ equivalent of the transfer fee at the current market exchange rate.  The purchase price is stated and agreed upon in $L.  The buyer needs to have that amount of L$ available in their account at the time the support tickets for selling/purchasing are submitted.  The date of collection of the monthly fee is non-modifiable and must be available as L$ in the owner's account.

Example: