Severe texture quality loss when uploading to SL

blahinos

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1355 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello,

I have been meshing for a few months now and I generally use Substance Painter for my texturing. It works well, except I experience severe texture quality loss when uploading the textures to SL and I would appreciate any help. Some details below:

My textures are always png. I generally texture at a 4k resolution in Substance Painter, then export as 2k or 1k for Second Life. Through my experimenting I've found this works better than texturing at a lower resolution, or uploading in a lower resolution... Naturally. Also, in Substance Painter my diffuse is rendered from the 2d viewport (That's generally what is recommended for SP texturing).

Here is an axe I recently textured in Substance Painter:

61109d06c2349c2d4e085d2c5223e142.png

And this is how it looked on SL:

19f9f9f9ace1d7b2a2f6a4c25491f742.jpg

I understand that all quality cannot be retained but this seems like a bit too lossy in my opinion, is there something I might be doing wrong? I've looked at the textures after exporting them, and I can confirm that it's specifically SL that ruins the quality. I use Firestorm. I do not have lossy texture compression enabled nor restrict maximum texture quality.

• Haha 1

It sounds to me like you are doing everything "correctly".  You didn't say if there was only one texture (eventually a 1024) for the whole axe.  You might try using more than one 1024 texture. I am NOT recommending that please understand but it is done. Some creators would use four texture on that object (insert sigh here).