Can Not Get ANY Sound

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1395 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

First let me say that while I am a longtime and competent user, I am not a nuts and bolts techie. I have been using Firestorm for years without any real issues or problems. But yesterday they ended support for their 32-bit Linux viewer so it no longer will work for me. So last night I downloaded the SL Linux viewer and while it is VERY different and is going to take me a while to get used to, it seems to work fine. With one exception.

I do not get ANY sound. Nothing. No music. No ambient sound. No sound effects. No streams. Just silence.

As I say I am not an expert, but I did what I could think of. I updated my (Nvidia) driver. I looked at Preferences/Sound & Media and everything looked ok except that in Input/Output devices the drop down menu for selecting the output device was set to default (which should have been ok) and is greyed out. There is also a "Please wait" message that never resolves. I assume this means that for some reason the viewer can not see my audio output device. Sound was working fine in Firestorm last time I used it and is working perfectly well in all my other applications. It seems to be a problem only with the SL viewer. I also searched the Wiki and Forums for similar problems but they all are with Windows systems and not very helpful to me (or maybe they are and I just don't get it). One thing I did notice is that I have no SLplugin.exe files running. I always had 3 or 4 of these running when using Firestorm, so perhaps this is the problem? As with most client-side Linux systems I have minimal anti-virus protections and no firewall. So I cannot think what may be preventing these files from running.

And ideas or suggestions will be deeply appreciated.

34 minutes ago, Sidney Pobieski said:

The latest LL viewer. I just downloaded it last night.