BloodSparda

Alternate Accounts for Roleplay Characters

Posted (edited)

I haven't been active one Second Life for years, but this is something that stood out to me.

What's the point of having another Second Life account for another character as a requirement at a Sim? 

• The explanation I was given is that they want people to have different usernames and avoid meta-gaming. 

I don't understand how different usernames doesn't contribute to meta-gaming, in fact, I believe it provides more anonymity(and you lose track of which person is writing who). 

• I was also told that you don't want a situation where character A and B are invited to the same party and you only have one account. 
    • As a writer, I thought I had a choice weather or not character A or B attended the same party. Events are optional. However, I must use two different accounts at the same time to attend the same party with two characters because I cannot do it on one account. I thought situations like that forces a writer to choose between the characters. Either way as  a writer you're still occupying one space and the lack of an avatar doesn't change that truth. What if I don't want to go to a party with character A? Instead I simply wanted to go with character B? What if I didn't want to go with either character? 

A username and nickname don't always equal up to who the person is writing as and nowadays most people use huds for titlers. 

For someone who is still new to the Second Life scene(and not so much the roleplay scene) it seems backwards to me. It sounds more like a personal preference rather than a logical one to me. 

Edited by BloodSparda
  • Confused 1

I'm not so familiar with the hardcore roleplay scene but requiring separate accounts for separate characters is definitely backwards on so many levels.