Scripting Door to open when another prim is clicked

blippy Dash

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4721 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi fellow second life residents,

I have made and scripted a door that opens and closes when clicked.  Does anyone know how i could script it so the door opens when another prim is clicked???

ps. I am new to linden script so go easy on me :)

Thanks

If the door is a child prim in the link set, then clicking on the root prim or any other child prim should activate the door. It may depend on how your script is written, however.  If your door is not linked to the prim that you want to act as a switch, then the easiest thing to do is have the switch send a message to the door on a private channel by llSay or llRegionSayTo.

three ways,(some already mentioned

1. send a message from the clicked prim script to the door prim script... the door triggers from that instead of a touch as already mentioned
    • link messages (must be linked), chat (must be in range), even http(rather complicated) and other formats will work
  2. put the whole script in the button, and target the door with llSetLink* type commands (assumes it is linked)
  3. put the whole script in the root, detect which prim is clicked, and target the door as above (assumes it is linked
    • draw back: the entire link set will have a touch icon when hovered over

Have used somt of the ideas suggested but am having trouble getting the scripts to work.  If anyone could let me know what i am doing wrong that would be great.

Script on switch:

{
    state_entry()
    {
        llSay(0, "Hello, Avatar!");
    }

touch_start(integer total_number)
    {
        llRegionSayTo("10e457cf-c631-cc69-2cb8-cd384541aca4",-524,"Rotate");
    }
}

Script on door:

float rotateBy = 0.8;

{
    state_entry()
    {

llListen(-524,"Switch","fac317ac-dc0f-c394-ad48-1b9a0644e9c4","rotate");
    }