Jump to content
  • 0

do i get my payment back?


You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3649 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

  • 0

If you were billed for one year, you will remain Premium for the whole period. If you downgrade to Basic, you will not be refunded. See this from the KB:

 

If you cancel or downgrade your account from Premium, you may still be charged for your current month's land holdings.

As stated on the Land Pricing & Use Fees page:

Land use fees are billed based on the peak amount of land held during your previous 30 day billing cycle. This includes land parcels held and land tiers donated to groups... Peak usage is measured by the maximum amount of land you held -- for any length of time -- during your billing cycle.

Thus you are always charged for your premium membership and the maximum amount land you owned during the current billing cycle, regardless of whether you cancelled your account before the end of the month.

32px-KBnote.png Note: When you cancel your account, it remains active until the end of your payment period. You may still log in and use Second Life during this time. For instance, if you bought a yearly Second Life membership and cancelled it the next day, you would still be treated as a Premium member for the next year!

In other words, you would better keep your Linden home (or choose another one on your dashboard if you dislike the one you have). And you will keep on receiving the weekly 300 L stipend.

  • Like 2
Link to post
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

If you were billed for one year, you will remain Premium for the whole period. If you downgrade to Basic, you will not be refunded. See this from the KB:

 

If you cancel or downgrade your account from Premium, you may still be charged for your current month's land holdings.

As stated on the Land Pricing & Use Fees page:

Land use fees are billed based on the peak amount of land held during your previous 30 day billing cycle. This includes land parcels held and land tiers donated to groups... Peak usage is measured by the maximum amount of land you held -- for any length of time -- during your billing cycle.

Thus you are always charged for your premium membership and the maximum amount land you owned during the current billing cycle, regardless of whether you cancelled your account before the end of the month.

32px-KBnote.png Note: When you cancel your account, it remains active until the end of your payment period. You may still log in and use Second Life during this time. For instance, if you bought a yearly Second Life membership and cancelled it the next day, you would still be treated as a Premium member for the next year!

In other words, you would better keep your Linden home (or choose another one on your dashboard if you dislike the one you have). And you will keep on receiving the weekly 300 L stipend.

  • Like 2
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

If your yearly membership got renewed then you will now be a Premium member for another year (even if you downgrade early) so you cannot get a cash refund.  However, if you pay yearly, you always get most of your membership fee refunded in your stipend payments.

The fee for yearly membership works out at $1.38 per week and the 300L stipend that you are paid is worth approx $1.20.

Hope that makes you feel at least a bit better :)

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

No, there are no refunds for the membership.  However, if you did it through a credit card and you can prove the date that you canceled is before the lab charged you, you can contest the charge with your credit card company and they can take action to pull the money back from the lab again.  Be aware though that LL is grossly incompetent with how it handles customers and could respond to this by suspending/banning your account rather than simply downgrading you like they were supposed to do.  Read up on what happened to the Elf Clan sometime if you want a lesson on how not to treat your customers. 

If you didn't downgrade before the automatic charge, then you are frankly out of luck.

Link to post
Share on other sites
You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3649 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...