What is the best way to start a blog?

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 247 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I've been a resident of Second Life for 11 plus years and I have some kind of knowledge about Second Life. I now want to start a blog but I don't know how to go about starting one. Can anyone give any great advice on how you started blogging? What do designers look for when wanting a blogger sponsorship?

My blog, such as it is, is written pretty much for myself.  I've never sought sponsors or advertisers, so any advice I might give is probably not going to help you much.

I use Google's Blogger engine.  It's very easy to create a blog design with it.  But most serious bloggers seem to use Wordpress.  My only other piece of advice is also in the "do as I say, not as I do" category:  Post daily.  You've got to keep the material coming to get the readership.

• Like 1

To start with, there is the obvious: create a blog. Usually either WordPress or Blogger

There is the official Second Life Bloggers Network you might interested in.
Also the unofficial and popular Blogger & Vlogger Network.  This has some good info on how to run your blog and use SL to create great pics.

Get a Flickr account, join some SL groups and start posting your pictures to them.  If you want to attract sponsors you will need to promote your blog and flickr pages.  They want to see numbers.  How many followers and likes per image mean ... well, everything. You have to sell yourself to the community to get visitors and create good posts to keep them.

Edited by Rhonda Huntress
2 hours ago, Raysa Jolbey said:

What do designers look for when wanting a blogger sponsorship?

A track record of good quality photography that proves the blogger knows how to showcase a product and make it look its best.