Basic housing/land questions

JhaelynStar

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1494 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi! So I'm a total noob when it comes to owning land/a house in SL. I've rented a place per week before, but I'd rather have something more permanent and usable other than a laggy rentable place.

How do you get a house? Do you need to purchase land? How much does that cost? Is it a one time purchase? How can you make it private? What about sky box houses, how do those work? What does prims really mean and how does it work with housing stuff?

I know, total noob questions lol. 😝

Hi @JhaelynStar!  (And thanks for the heads up, Lil!)

My class is on Saturdays, at 12 noon SL time, at Caledon Oxbridge University.  It's free to attend!  But next Saturday is a way off, so here are some things to maybe help you cope until then...

There are two types of land in SL:  Mainland and Private Estates.  Mainland is land that's directly managed by Linden Lab.  Private Estates are regions that are owned and managed by another SL resident.

There are perhaps four ways of having land in SL:  Renting from another resident on the Mainland; renting (although it's often called "buying") a parcel of land from a Private Estate owner; owning a parcel of Mainland yourself, directly; and owning one or more entire private regions and being an Estate Owner yourself.  We can pretty much forget the last one, unless you're ready to shell out a couple of hundred dollars ($USD, not Linden Dollars) per month.  And you've already experienced the first one.  Living on a Private Estate and paying the owner is a lot like renting on the Mainland, except that you'll probably have a bit more control over your land.  That leaves Mainland ownership, so let's discuss it...