I need to understand buying land

thatshowigetmyvibes

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1521 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Disclaimer: I apologize if this is not the "correct" forum discussion, but it's general and I'd like quick answers for my stupid questions.

So I'm new to SL, 2 years in. I've decided I want to buy land.

However there's so many different terms people have told me. "Regions", "Sims", "Parcels", etc.

I'm just trying to understand what's the best deal and where to buy it (Obviously Linden Labs most likely would have the best deal)

But any help is greatly appreciated. I do apologize for sounding like a noob, but I'm huge into businesses and Second Life. 

Region and SIM are used interchangeably by some. Region is more correct. SIM, short for Simulator, is the computer and/or computer core on which a region is running (being simulated).

A parcel is a plot of land in a region. The best deals depend on what kind of land you want, which can be dictated by your intended use of it. Land has different ratings; General, Moderate, and Adult. Differently rated land will have different scales of value. More information about these ratings can be found here. The best way to find out what a good deal is, is to look around for land that is for sale in regions containing your desired maturity rating. Then you can see what high and low sale prices are, and try to find a parcel size and price that is right for you. Land sales by residents can be done in two ways, direct sale to anyone, or to a specific individual; or by auction, as desired by the land owner.