Sailing Newbie -- Halp! :)

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 829 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hey all :)

I'm an extreme novice sailor in SL, and I love my boat.  My problem is that sometimes the engine (my boat, the Bandit 50/3, has an engine for pulling out of/ into the marina) will start, but the boat won't move forward.  Similar issues have happened in the Blake Sea when I lost my mind and steered directly into the wind, and couldn't figure out how to rescue myself other than starting the engine, and nada.  No movement whatsoever.  Sure, it looks like it's running and sounds like it's running, but it's... well, the boat won't move.

I've checked to make sure the waters aren't too shallow for my keel, and that's not the issue (it was once in the marina, because I didn't realize keels were a thing -- yes, super noob here :P )

Any ideas?  I'm pretty sure I'm either doing something wrong or it's an SL borkage thing, but honestly either is a very real possibility.  I did take the classes offered on how to sail, which is how I know steering into the wind is Not At All Advised (physics aren't my strong point), but I can't find out if this engine trouble is a "me" thing or not.

Thanks for any thoughts you may have!

Edited by Ajay McDowwll
Saying "thing" too often gave me the headache.

Silly question, but you never know...

have you used the page-up key to kick it into a forweard gear? Its a while since I had my Bandit 55 out on the water, and I can't get at the manual at the moment, but I'll bet yours works the same. Additional presses of Page-up will increase the throttle.

Edited by Odaks
  • Like 1

13 minutes ago, Odaks said:

Silly question, but you never know...